How to get a timeshare refund in Florida.
For most people, the idea of a timeshare sounds pretty great: the opportunity to take a vacation every year with the family or escape with friends to a popular resort. However, few are aware of the hefty costs that come with such a purchase. To get a refund for your timeshare, call The People’s Advocate.
In fact, an estimated 90 percent of timeshare buyers later regret their purchase and wish they could get out of their contract and receive a refund.
How can you get an unconditional timeshare refund? Unfortunately there is no simple answer as getting out of your contract will depend on your particular circumstances. Typically, you will have to prove that the company violated your rights under Florida’s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act (FDUTPA).
If you’re interested in getting a refund for your timeshare, you have several options to choose from. The easiest option is to try and get out of the contract within the rescission period. This is usually a 5- or 10-day period after signing the contract, where the buyer can back out of the sale if they change their mind.
This may not apply to every state, so check with your state’s attorney general before proceeding.
If you are outside of the rescission period, there are other steps you can take to try and get out of your timeshare agreement:
Hire a timeshare exit company or attorney. You’ll have to pay this individual or firm, but they will help you cancel your contract and walk away from your timeshare.
Give it away. If you still own a deeded property, meaning that it’s attached to real estate you legally own, you can transfer ownership in order to get rid of it. You’ll need to research this method further as some resorts may restrict transfers without prior approval.
Florida is one of the nation’s most popular vacation destinations. With thousands of miles of beaches and an average temperature between 77 and 80 degrees, it’s not hard to see why people flock to the Sunshine State.
But if you’ve purchased a timeshare in Florida within the last ten days and feel like you were taken advantage of, don’t worry. You have legal recourse. There are timeshare cancellation laws in Florida that protect consumers from being scammed by unscrupulous salespeople.
Getting a timeshare is easy. Getting rid of a timeshare is much harder. But there are some ways to get out from under the cost of a timeshare that you no longer need or want.
If your first thought when you hear “timeshare” is “scam,” you’re not alone. The industry has earned a reputation for tricking people into buying a product that’s almost impossible to unload. In fact, many states have laws against certain sales practices, including:
Pressure sales tactics — Salespeople who try to make you buy now, or who tell you that your price will go up if you leave and come back later.
Misrepresentations — Some timeshares are sold on the promise that they’ll appreciate over time, but that’s rarely the case.
Failure to provide written disclosures — You must be given an information packet with disclosures in large type and a five-day right to cancel before you sign any contract.
Bait and switch — If the salesperson promises something — like a free gift or meal — then says you won’t get it unless you buy, that’s illegal in Florida.
When it comes time to get rid of your timeshare, there are several ways to do it: