How to Read Jathagam According to Tamil Astrology?

Astrology is an excellent subject of interest in India. People of this country have worked and believed in this field for centuries. Indian astrology is quite different from other parts of the world. It consists of many elements and aspects which sets it apart from other studies. Vedic astrology can be traced back thousands of years into the history of India. Since then, this study subject has had a significant impact on the lives of a lot of people. There are many subdivisions and approaches of astrology, and Tamil Jathagam is one such aspect.

It is popular because of its accuracy in south Indian customs and traditions. Tamil jothidam is a considerable part of this heritage and culture. Today’s blog will share some vital information regarding Tamil astrology and how to read free astrology in Tamil language.

Things to Consider Before Reading

Regardless of which division of astrology you are planning to study, there are different elements and topics that you should be aware of. While you can always get Tamil jathagam free, here are the most essential aspects of Tamil astrology that you have to consider.

Place and date of birth: First and foremost, you have to know the date and exact time of birth to determine the natal chart in Tamil language. It helps in the precise calculation of astrological information, and you can make Tamil Panchangam with it.

Natal chart: The base of all the calculations that will be made is dependent on the natal chart of the individual. The natal chart consists of all information regarding the place, date, and exact time of your birth and the position of the planets in the solar system. Analysis of the natal chart will help you a lot in the process.

Rashi: Vedic astrology believes in moon placed signs, and there are 12 fixed rashis which you know of. Here are the 12 rashis that play a major role in Tamil Jathagam

  • Mesh – Aries
  • Rishabha – Taurus
  • Mithuna – Gemini
  • Karka – Cancer
  • Simha – Leo
  • Kanya – Virgo
  • Tula – Libra
  • Vrischika – Scorpio
  • Dhanur – Sagittarius
  • Makara – Capricorn
  • Khumba – Aquarius
  • Meena – Pieces

Lagna: Lagna or also known as the Ascendant, it is the sign of the first house. The movement of the moon is identified as the conscience, and Lagna signifies the individual. Every individual holds a special significance in the lord of Lagna and other moon placed houses. The Lagna can signify a person’s choice of clothing, appearance, or style, even indicating the mannerisms of the person.

Position of Sun and Moon in Rasi house: the exact position of the Sun can control a person’s character traits in a significant way. It also tells us how people can manifest themselves in the world and their current position in society. On the other hand, the moon controls a person’s instincts, traits, emotions, etc. Sun helps us to define how the world will perceive an individual, and the moon allows us to identify a person’s distinctive traits. The position of these two planets can help us identify and get a better in-depth understanding of an individual.

Grahas placed in each Rashi and house: each planet or also known as Graha have their own role to play in decoding the Jothidam. A particular Rashi usually rules each house. The relationship between the houses and the planets will help you identify aspects of your career, finances, love life, etc.

Navamsa Chart or D9 chart: D9 chart or the Navamsa chart holds immense value in the study of Vedic astrology. It helps to inspect the aspects of life which are related to Jothidam. Many events of your life, like marriage, or the role of fortune and luck, can influence our charts. D9 chart can be deeply introspective when an individual crosses the 20s or 30s stage.

Dasha: Dashas are the period when individual planets rule over your natal chart. In native astrology, there are over 50 types of such Dasha systems. One such common method is the Vimshottari Dasha System. It is a system which is based on the Nakshatra, the term used to refer to lunar mansion.

Atmakaraka and Amatyakaraka Planets: last but not least, atmakaraka is the planet with the highest degree in a particular sign. The one with the second highest degree is called the amatyakaraka. The natural atmakara of a person’s kundali chart is the Sun and a personal atmakaraka is known as Chara Atmakara. The functionality of the grahas or planets is identified by the degree of all these karas. The atmakaraka has a substantial influence on the lord of the 1st house.

So, these are some of the most important things you need to consider and be aware of when decoding Tamil jathagam online free.


Astrology can open many new aspects of your life and help you identify new opportunities and challenges you will face. It is the study that allows a person to know about themselves and the ones they love even better. To know more about Tamil free jathagam kattam palangal you can head to a reputed astrologer or study the subject online and it’s various aspects by yourself and decode Jathagam.