Who Sings We Are The World

“We Are the World” is an iconic song that holds a special place in music history, symbolizing unity, compassion, and the power of collaboration. Released on March 7, 1985, the song was written by the legendary pop artist Michael Jackson and former Commodores frontman Lionel Richie. The production was managed by Quincy Jones and Michael Omartian.

The song was recorded in response to the famine crisis in Ethiopia in the mid-1980s. It brought together some of the biggest names in the music industry, united under the banner of USA for Africa, a supergroup created specifically for this cause. The proceeds from the sales of “We Are the World” were used for humanitarian aid in Africa and the United States.

Here are the artists who lent their voices to “We Are the World”, in the order of their solo parts:

  1. Lionel Richie
  2. Stevie Wonder
  3. Paul Simon
  4. Kenny Rogers
  5. James Ingram
  6. Tina Turner
  7. Billy Joel
  8. Michael Jackson
  9. Diana Ross
  10. Dionne Warwick
  11. Willie Nelson
  12. Al Jarreau
  13. Bruce Springsteen
  14. Kenny Loggins
  15. Steve Perry
  16. Daryl Hall
  17. Huey Lewis
  18. Cyndi Lauper
  19. Kim Carnes
  20. Bob Dylan
  21. Ray Charles

Additionally, several artists were featured in the chorus, including Dan Aykroyd, Harry Belafonte, Lindsey Buckingham, Mario Cipollina, Johnny Colla, Sheila E., Bob Geldof, Bill Gibson, Chris Hayes, Sean Hopper, Jackie Jackson, La Toya Jackson, Marlon Jackson, Randy Jackson, Tito Jackson, Waylon Jennings, Bette Midler, John Oates, Jeffrey Osborne, The Pointer Sisters, and Smokey Robinson.

“We Are the World” was a monumental success, selling over 20 million copies, and raising millions of dollars for famine relief. It also won numerous awards, including three Grammy Awards for Song of the Year, Record of the Year, and Best Pop Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocal.

In 2010, a remake of the song was recorded, titled “We Are the World 25 for Haiti”, following the devastating earthquake in Haiti. This version featured a new set of artists including Justin Bieber, Nicole Scherzinger, Jennifer Hudson, and many others.

“We Are the World” remains an enduring symbol of the music industry’s power to effect positive change, showcasing how artists can come together to make a significant difference in addressing global issues.